HS Organizations » National Honor Society

National Honor Society

The National Honor Society is an organization that elevates a school’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. These four pillars have been associated with membership in the organization since its inception in 1921. To be inducted into the NHS, students will not only have to have exemplary grades but will also need to participate in leadership positions, community service, school activities and extra curricular community activities beginning in the 9th grade.  A sample log sheet is provided below.

Students in grades 10–­­11 who meet the requirements for membership outlined by their school’s chapter are eligible to be invited for membership.


  • Scholarship
    Per national guidelines, at a minimum, students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, or equivalent standard of excellence. 
  • Service
    This involves voluntary contributions made by a student to the school or community, done without compensation.
  • Leadership
    Student leaders are those who are resourceful, good problem solvers, and idea contributors. Leadership experiences can be drawn from school or community activities while working with or for others.
  • Character
    The student of good character is cooperative; demonstrates high standards of honesty and reliability; shows courtesy, concern, and respect for others; and generally maintains a clean disciplinary record.

Students who meet the scholarship requirement will have an opportunity to complete a form detailing their accomplishments in and commitment to service, leadership, and character in the spring semester. 

2023-2024 Members:
Auer, Brynlee
Ayala, Gisselle
Filipp, Alicia
Hatcher, Trinity
Vrazel, Francessca
Cook, Zachary
Gutierrez, Melanie
Harper, Ava
Langdon, Zoe
Lewis, Andrew
McLeland, Max
Roberts, Dixie
Robinson, Andrew
Spillars, Jessica
Trammel, Taylann
2023-2024 Officers:
President- Fitzgerald, Emma
Vice President- Zwahr, Maddison
Treasurer- Brost, Nicole
Historian- Sykora, Lauren
Secretary- Small, Gabrielle
Parliamentarian- Flora, Jace
Publicity Chair- Dees, Emme